Skip to content

Tuckahoe, Chesterbrook among week-one Division 1 swim winners

Tiger Sharks and Tigers each win big by more than 100 points
Tuckahoe’s Isaac Bell swims breaststroke during the boys ag 15-18 medley relay in opening-week summer swimming aciton June 15.

The three longstanding Division 1 perennial powers of the Northern Virginia Swimming League began a new season in typical form with victories in June 15 matches.

The defending champion Tuckahoe Tigers of McLean routed the host Donaldson Run Thunderbolts of Arlington, 267-153, McLean’s Chesterbrook Tiger Sharks blew out Division 1 newcomer Old Keene Mill, 292-128, and Arlington’s Overlee Flying Fish downed McLean’s Highlands Whomping Turtles, 237-183.

The three winners are expected to battle for the Division 1 crown again this summer.

For Tuckahoe in its victory, double race winners were Caroline Van Riper, Daniel Klett, Vivi Passos-Androvic, Hunter Zipperer and Grant Nielsen. Single winners were Liam Laudier, Kyle Koay, Kennedy Nielsen, Andrew Palaez, Olivia Cho, Jillian Bayer, Nolan Dunkel, Danielle Hughes, Gabi Rodriguez, Huey McFalls, Esme Haggard, Catherine Hughes, Victor Rodriguez, McKinley Nielsen and Tinsley Bretzfield.

The 9-10 boys medley relay set a Tuckahoe record of 1:08.63.

Dunkel returned from training in college with North Carolina State University for the meet.

“The team was very strong today for our first meet. We had a lot of good times and was the kind of start we wanted,” Tuckahoe coach Torey Ortmeyer said.

Double winners for Donaldson Run were led by Rachel Conley along Eleanor Wertzler and James Madden. Conley will swim in college at the University of Minnesota.

Single winners were Micah Utz, Avery Wishneff, Caroline Baca, Annika Joesten, Hunter Simms, Christian Jacobs, Miles Ledford and Charlie Greenwood.

In Overlee’s victory, the Flying Fish had a 54-36 early lead that they stretched to 107-73 through backstroke and maintained the rest of the way, winning seven of 12 relay races.

Double winners for Overlee were Matt Daus, Samantha Bravery, Sully Portner, McKinley Busen, Billy Weber, Abigail Hartman and Evan Ingraham. Single winners were Brendan Finnerty, Violet Mullen, Will Craven, Tyler Hong, Alex Bristow, Claire Cocker, Frederick Papadopoulos, Mary Pickens and Sia Nicholakos.

For Highlands, double winners were Reid Bittenbender, Carter Huey, Cecelia Russell, Charlie Scogna and Luke Zemek. Single winners were Carlota Cooper, Emma Dewhirst, Evan Farley, Annabelle Pearce, Madeline Roche, Beckett Roth, Mackey Tolar and Rio Walther.

The girls age 11-12 relay set a team record of 1:02.87.

Leading Chesterbrook were double winners Manua Maher, Lily Wilson, McKenzie Cory, Mara Wilson and Katherine Talbert. Single winners were Aliyah Majeed-Hall, Keira Gutierrez, Jacqueline Furche, Nicolas Christofferson, Finn Grundhoefer, Kedar Kambhampaty, Cameron Parkhomenko, Kathllen Bhulli, Gabrielle Cohen, Emma Maher, Lilah Gallagher, Sabrina O’Dea, Maddox Cory, Matthew Rose, George Courhara, Ilan Schiff, Travor Epperson, Ezra Landsman and Arav Bhargava.