Skip to content

Banquet set for Northern Virginia Football Hall of Fame

Many will be honored at the March 10 celebration

The Northern Virginia Football Hall of Fame will hold its annual awards banquet Sunday, March 10 at the McLean Hilton Hotel.

Festivities begin with a social gathering at 1:30 p.m., with a dinner an hour later. The awards ceremony will follow, honoring local area youth and high-school players, coaches and officials, along with other guests and the two new Hall of Fame inductees.

Individual tickets for the banquet can be purchased for $45 each and $400 for table seating (10). For ticket information and purchase contact Mary Small at (571) 238-3565 or

The two Hall of Fame 2024 inductees are Oren Burks and David Hall.

Burks is a South County High School graduate who played in college at Vanderbilt University and in the National Football League for the San Francisco 49ers and Green Bay Packers.

Hall is a longtime Vienna Youth Inc. and Madison High School coach and University of Virginia attendee.

The Football Official of the Year is Steve Lorenzetty of the Northern Virginia Football Officials Association.

The Karl Davey Community Achievement Award goes to Ed Miller, for service with the Chantilly Youth Association and Fairfax County Youth Football League.

The Tom Davis Meritorious Service Award goes to Michael Terence Smyth, a professional musician.

The Gene Nelson Commissioner of the Year Award goes to Jeff Fehrman, commissioner of the Gainesville/Haymarket Football Club.

The 2023 High School Players of the Year: Cord Yates, Madison High School; Kevin Kabasele, McLean High School; Brady Echols, West Springfield High School; Brandon Binkowski, Battlefield High School; Luke Jarvis, Madison High School; and Eli Williams, Edison High School.

The 2023 High School Coaches of the Year: Justin Counts, Madison, and Mike Dougherty, Lake Braddock Secondary School.

The 2023 Youth Coaches of the Year: Scott Diep (Anklebiter Division, DI Sports & Athletics), Calvin Parker (National Division, Vienna Youth, Inc.), Damon Raymond (Central Division, Fort Hunt Football & Cheerleading) and Luis Siguere (American Division, Gainesville-Haymarket Youth Football).

The 2023 Youth Players of the Year: Giovanni Noble (80-pound National, Annandale Boys & Girls Club), Scott Shaw (115 Central, Arlington Youth Football Club), Tyler Cabrera (100 American, Braddock Road Youth Club), Jeremiah Rosario (110 Central, Chantilly Youth Association), Karim Jean (80 American, DI Sports & Athletics), Kaden Golston (130 American, Dulles Youth Sports), Gabriel Helmstutler (100 Central, Fairfax Police Youth Club), Cole Henson (130 American, Fort Hunt Football & Cheerleading), Thomas Polivka (80 American, Gainesville-Haymarket Youth Football), Anthony Hunter (100 Central, Manassas Youth Football League), Benjamin Scheuerman (100 American, McLean-Great Falls Football Association), Hudson Rita (115 American, Reston Youth Association), Elijah Otchere (90 American, Southwestern Youth Association), Josiah Bolme (155 American, Springfield/South County Youth Club), Zachary Lesniewski (100 American, Vienna Youth Inc.).

The 2023 High-School Scholarship Winners: Ivan Flores-Gomez (Annandale High School), Charles Beamon (Westfield High School), Lucas Matheny (Lake Braddock Secondary School), Ryan Matheny (Lake Braddock Secondary School).