Skip to content

More local students garner National Merit Scholarships

$2,500 stipends will help graduating high-school seniors as they move to college

Thirty-six students from nine Fairfax County high schools have been named winners of $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

Scholarship winners are part of a group of approximately 2,500 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships in 2023 primarily financed by the NMSC.

Scholarship recipients from the GazetteLeader coverage area, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are:

Tanish Jain (computer science), Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology; Jessica Yixiu Wang (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Amit Sai Erraguntla (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Aditya Vasantharao (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Tarini Basireddy (biomedical engineering), Thomas Jefferson; Jessica Chung (astrophysics), Thomas Jefferson; Bryan Hong (biomedical engineering), Thomas Jefferson.

Also, Sean Noh (computer science), Oakton High School; Grace Guan (statistics), Thomas Jefferson; Josephine Amspaugh (neuroscience), Langley High School; Angela Zhang (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Audhav Durai (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Deccan Maniam (computer engineering), Thomas Jefferson; Timothy Johanson (chemistry), Thomas Jefferson; Taein Kim (computer science), Thomas Jefferson.

Also, Stephanie Ma (civil engineering), Langley; Alexander Pomper (science/research), Langley;  Anisha Talreja (business), Thomas Jefferson; Emma Yang (medicine), McLean High School; Olivia Zhang (public health), McLean; Isabella Xindi Zhu (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Lillian Zhu (economics), Thomas Jefferson; Sauman Das (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Cindy Li (computer science), Oakton; Jeffrey Cheng (aerospace engineering), McLean; Lauren Hyde (computer science), Thomas Jefferson; Ethan Caldwell (historian of science), Thomas Jefferson; Deborah Saemee Kim (biomedicine), George C. Marshall High School; Daliya Sakina Rizvi (surgical medicine), Langley High School; Nimesh Rudra (medicine), Thomas Jefferson.

Each of the FCPS winners received a scholarship supported by the NMSC’s own funds.