Skip to content

Arlington's elections director reappointed to new term

Reinemeyer has been in post since 2019
2023 Arlington Electoral Board vice chair Richard Samp, secretary Scott McGeary and chair Kimberly Phillip are shown with director of elections Gretchen Reinemeyer.

Arlington Electoral Board members on June 9 reappointed county director of elections (registrar) Gretchen Reinemeyer to her second four-year term, ensuring continuity through the 2024 presidential election and beyond.

The vote was unanimous, said Electoral Board secretary Scott McGeary, who serves on the body alongside chair Kim Phillip and vice chair Richard Samp.

Reinemeyer had been serving under registrar Linda Lindberg when the latter retired in 2019 after 16 years of service.

Long tenures, in fact, are the norm in the position – since Arlington’s modern-day elections office was established in 1947, the three predecessors to Lindberg had served for 18, 12 and 26 years, respectively, according to county data.