Skip to content

Arlington Community Foundation names Spirit of Community honorees

Jeanne Broyhill, Dr. Raymond Hoare and Marty Swaim will receive honors in November

The Arlington Community Foundation has announced 2024 recipients of its William T. Newman Spirit of Community Awards.

Jeannie Broyhill, Dr. Raymond Hoare and Marty Swaim were selected for the honors, to be bestowed in November.

"Individually and collectively, these honorees represent the passion, commitment and community advocacy that define the award, and the absolute best vision of what Arlington can be," foundation officials said.

Broyhill is being honored for a long list of civic roles, including leadership posts with Culpepper Garden, the Leadership Center of Arlington, Advance Arlington (formerly Arlington Committee of 100) and Womenade.

Dr. Hoare, a cardiologist, in 1994 became a founding physician of Arlington Free Clinic, where he continues to see patients who otherwise would not have access to cardiac specialized care.

A 46-year Arlington resident, Martha (Marty) Swaim is the co-founder of Challenging Racism (CR), a local nonprofit dedicated to empowering, inspiring, and giving individuals the tools to disrupt systemic racism.

Previous recipients since the honor first was bestowed have included (in chronological order starting in 1993, with some years having multiple honorees) Joan Cooper, H. Paul Mount, Anna Barber, Elizabeth Campbell, Walter Tejada, John McCracken, Julia Connally, Charles Overby, Jennie Davis, Jean Berg, Eric Schaeffer, Ralph Johnson, the Woman’s Club of Arlington, Preston Caruthers, Rich Doud, Karen Darner, George Varoutsos, Mary Ann Nirschl, Meg Tuccillo, John Andelin and Ginger Geoffrey, Lola Reinsch, Mary Ann Moran, Jonathan Kinney, John Milliken, Emma Violand-Sánchez, Alfred Taylor, Arlington’s front-line public-health workers, Lucy Bowen, Portia Clark, Mark Riley, Dr. Mike Silverman, Andres Tobar, Dr. Tsehaye Teferra and John Foti. The award is named in honor of retired Circuit Court Judge William Newman Jr., founder of the Arlington Community Foundation.

For information on the awards program, see the Website at