Skip to content

Four Arlington swimming teams enjoy a winning fourth week

Victories were second and third straight for Squids and Holy Mackerels
Arlington Forest swimmers and coaches huddle prior to the start of the relay races during a meet this season.

Arlington's four Northern Virginia Swimming League teams finished with a combined 2-2 record the morning of July 6 in the second to last week of the 2024 summer season.

Winning their matches by similar scores were the Donaldson Run Thunderbolts in Division 1 with a 226-194 home win over Old Keene Mill and the Arlington Forest Tigers, 224-196, on the road at Mansion House in Division 9. Each improved to 2-2 with the victories, matching their win totals of last season.

Losing their matches were the Overlee Flying Fish (3-1) of Division 1 and the Dominion Hills Thunder Ducks (1-3) of Division 7. Overlee fell to visiting Chesterbrook, 230-190, and Dominion Hills lost to host Parklawn, 228.5-191.5. 

For Overlee in its win, double winners were Holden Busen, Samantha Bravery,  Violet Mullen,  McKinley Busen, Abigail Hartman, Sam Gilbert and Evan Ingraham. Single winners were Will Cravens, Sia Nicholakos, Jackson Bravery, Billy Weber, Jay Young, Mary Pickens and Charlie Hartman.

Hartman lowered her 8-under backstroke team and Overlee pool record with a time of 18:95. 

After the freestyle event, the teams were tied at 45. Chesterbrook built a 14-point lead through the backstroke events and stretched its advantage to as high as 28 points prior to Overlee mounting a comeback to bring the teams back within 10 points entering the relay events.

Chesterbrook proved too strong, winning nine of the 12 relays.

For Arlington Forest, double winners were Sophia Cordo, Anna Dansereau, Damien Kaczor, Cole Klapmust, Mitchell Klapmust, Eli Martin and Dylan Tallis. Single winners were Kayla Bell, Quinn Bryer, Tristan Dasch, Evan Dickey, Graham Dickey, Bella Foshay, Peter Huggler and Olivia Willard.

For Dominion Hills, double winners were Andrew Aldonas, Henry Smith, Matild Macskasi, Kleo Macskasi and Beckett Langsdale. Single winners were Alaiana Desautels, Pax Christensen, Louise Ax, Tanner Langsdale, Nathaniel LeNard, Victor Malini, Cooper McComis and Louis Logerfo.

Double winners for Donaldson Run were Rachel Conley, Kate Edgerton and Eleanor Wertzler. Single winners were Pippa Chin-Fatt, Avery Wishneff, Nora Sherman, Caroline Baca, Anna Eliot, Ann Madden, Peter Madden, James Madden, Theo Cahill, Christian Jacobs, Charlie Greenwood, Micah Utz and Mitchell Robinson.

* In the Colonial Swimming League, the Knights of Columbus Holy Mackerels defeated visiting Franklin Farm, 255.5-195.5, in the top Red Division and in their first home meet of the season to improve to 3-1 and win for the third straight time.

For the Holy Mackerels, Savigna Neely Martin, Summer Springer, Elizabeth Pilot and William Silver were triple winners and Mary Hecmanczuk and Will Coleman were double winners. Single winners were Aubrey Larson, Jacqueline Barrett, Sedona Springer, Mireille Parisi, Zach Black, Azmera Gebre and Vickie Gammell.

In Colonial Swimming League White Division, the Fort Myer Squids (2-2) defeated host South Riding, 274.5-176.5, on July 6. 

The Squids' Zack Berner, Sasha Taylor and Gabrielle Browne each won three races. Double winners were Aileen Kee, Colt Harper and Peter Sheehey. Other race winners were Jaxon Gibbs, Jayden Gibbs, Drew Loughry, Bruce Truong, Sophia Bhave, Alma McCarthy, Evelyn Logsdon, Diego Ramos and Clara McCarthy.

The Fort Myer girls 15-18 medley relay team broke the team record with a time of 209.39.