Skip to content

Straw poll helps kick off Arlington 2023 election season

Voting occurred at fund-raiser for Del. Patrick Hope

It’s only a small sampling, and of party insiders rather than the general electorate, but the results are in from one of the first straw polls of Arlington’s 2023 campaign season.

The event was held as part of Del. Patrick Hope’s March 16 St. Patrick’s Day celebration and campaign kickoff, held at Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington.

Three key Democratic-primary races – to be decided June 20 – were on the ballot. And the results:

• For County Board, Maureen Coffey led the field with 28 votes, followed by J.D. Spain Sr. (25), Susan Cunningham (19), Natalie Roy (18), Tony Weaver (15) and Jonathan Dromgoole (nine).

Democrats on June 20 will select two contenders for the spots being vacated by Democratic incumbents Katie Cristol and Christian Dorsey.

• For sheriff, Jose Quiroz received 25 votes, followed by Wanda Younger (19) and James Herring (10).

Quiroz in January was appointed as sheriff by the Circuit Court, following the retirement of Beth Arthur.

• For commonwealth’s attorney, Parisa Dehghani-Tafti scored 52 votes to Josh Katcher’s 12.

Four years ago, Dehghani-Tafti defeated two-term prosecutor Theo Stamos in the Democratic primary, then went on to win the general election unopposed.