Skip to content

Nomination deadline nears for 2024 'Spirit of Community' honors

Awards will be bestowed by Arlington Community Foundation in November
2023 Spirit of Community honorees Andres Tobar, Dr. Tsehaye Teferra and John Foti are flanked by Arlington Community Foundation founder Judge William T. Newman Jr. and the organization's president/CEO, Jennifer Owens.

The Arlington Community Foundation is accepting nominations through May 27 for the 2024 William T. Newman Jr. Spirit of Community Awards.

“Do you know someone who makes Arlington better? Whether through social justice, disability rights, the arts, philanthropy, community service, volunteering, public health, parks preservation or otherwise – we want to honor and celebrate them,” the organization said in putting out the call for nominations.

Honorees in the 31st annual awards program will be celebrated during a luncheon in November. Registration will open over the summer.

Previous recipients since the honor first was bestowed have included (in chronological order starting in 1993, with some years having multiple honorees) Joan Cooper, H. Paul Mount, Anna Barber, Elizabeth Campbell, Walter Tejada, John McCracken, Julia Connally, Charles Overby, Jennie Davis, Jean Berg, Eric Schaeffer, Ralph Johnson, the Woman’s Club of Arlington, Preston Caruthers, Rich Doud, Karen Darner, George Varoutsos, Mary Ann Nirschl, Meg Tuccillo, John Andelin and Ginger Geoffrey, Lola Reinsch, Mary Ann Moran, Jonathan Kinney, John Milliken, Emma Violand-Sánchez, Alfred Taylor, Arlington’s front-line public-health workers, Lucy Bowen, Portia Clark, Mark Riley, Dr. Mike Silverman, Andres Tobar, Dr. Tsehaye Teferra and John Foti.

For information on the awards program, see the Website at